Rhino Charge 2013 Raises a record Ksh90 Million in Fundraising

The numbers are in, Rhino charge this year successfully raised a whopping Ksh90,294,239.18 a step up from last year’s Ksh84.6 million by a Ksh5.6 million difference; an all time record. This was a three-day event held from June 1 in Ol Doinyo Nyokie, Kajiado County. Sean Avery ( Team Bundu Fundi – car 38)  whose team visited all guard posts with a distance of 26.99km was this year’s winner.

car 38 award

“I am most thankful to the host community for accepting us in one most beautiful and unspoiled part of East Africa, as well as to all the competitors and sponsors for having come good in a difficult time for a cause which is at the centre of the future of the nation” David Lowe, Clerk of the Course.

car 12 dust cloud

car 60 xl climb

The most prestigious Victor Ludorum Award (highest fundraiser award) went to  Alan McKittrick of car 5. McKittrick and his team continued their noble streak of fundraising having raised an all time high of Ksh12,098,283 beating their last year’s record of Ksh11,509,015.  Alan has been the highest fundraiser in rhino charge’s history having raised a staggering total of Ksh101,240,535 since 1989. This incredible performance saw McKittrick’s team awarded the Ken Kuhle trophy for services to conservation having been number one fundraiser  for 11 consecutive years. Tim Carstens of Base Titanium came in 2nd with just over Ksh5 million raised.

car 5 victor ludorum

car 5 mckittrick

The tough Gauntlet race proved a bit of a challenge for Sean Avery coming in second with a distance of 1.34km. First place went to Terry Childs (Braeburn Seven Squared) in car 49 with a distance of 1.28km who also won the Tiger Line 2 covering a distance of 3.876km. Peter Bonde Nielsen in car 64 came in Third with a distance of 1.36km. Avery managed to regroup and emerged winner of the modified vehicles category. Tanya Church (Team Rhino Rouge) in car 17 won the unmodified category but was placed 16th overall with a distance of 37.356km. She was also awarded the Coupe Des Dames award.

car 35 award

car 42 award

car 63 award

Tiger Line 1 was won by Mark Glen (Glen/Llewellyn) in car 48 covering a distance of 1.747 km whereas Best placed overseas entrant went to Chris Welles (The Wags) in car 10 placed 39th overall in the event. Anton Levitan scooped the Spirit of the Charge trophy having been Clerk of the Course for 19 consecutive years. Levitan’s efforts have seen the charge evolve into a much sort after conservatory sport built up of thrill, fun and social responsibility.

anton levitan award

Another success into the event was the Rhino Charge raffle meant to assist the fund-raise with over 120 prizes.  The main prize, 2 return business class tickets to Bangkok from Kenya Airways and 5 nights accommodation at the Rembrandt Hotel in Bangkok was won by Business Advisory Group supporting car 44. Ksh2.9 million was raised in camping fees. This was gotten from entry fees into the venue by all entrants. The funds will go to local conservation projects run by a local committee.

christian speech

Speaking during the prize giving ceremony, Christian Lambrechts, Executive Director of Rhino Ark thanked “the competitors who have been most active during the past year in securing sponsorships for their cars and succeeded in raising funds to a level never reached before”.

car 17 award 2

The money raised during Rhino Charge will go towards fencing Mt Kenya and Mau Eburu. Work on these two projects has already began with 27km of the Mt. Kenya electric fence already built and 6km on Mau Eburu completed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s