Eco-Warriors 2013 Shortlisted Candidates

As promised, the list of shortlisted finalists for the Eco-tourism award is finally out. The 7th edition of the Eco-Warriors Award Ceremony Gala Night scheduled to be at the Safari Park Hotel and Casino on 24th September 2013, will be held under the Tourism’s role in sustainable community development theme.

The Award ceremony is held annually to recognize exceptional achievers in ecotourism best practices in Kenya. Over 77 applications were received for this year’s awards, the nominees are as follows:

  • Conservancy of the Year 2013 – Private

a)Ol Pejeta

b)Borana Conservancy

  • Conservancy of the Year 2013 – Community

a)Ol Kinyei Conservancy

b)Ilngwesi Conservancy

c)Naboisho Conservancy

d)Mara North Conservancy

  • Ecotourism Enterprise of the Year 2013 – Lodge

a)Severin Sea Lodge

b)Serena Mountain Lodge

c)Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

d)Sirikoi Lodge

e)Tawi Lodge

f)Keekorok Lodge

g)Olarro Lodge

h)Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

  • Ecotourism Enterprise of the Year 2013 – Tented Camp

a)Ol Seki Hemingways Mara

b)Lake Elementaita Serena Camp

c)Porini Mara Camp

d)Kilima Camp

e)Basecamp Masai Mara

f)Kiboko Luxury Camp

g)Elephant Pepper Camp

h)Sanctuary Olonana

i)Sarova Mara

j)Governors camp

  • Ecotourism Enterprise of the Year 2013 – Villas/ Holiday homes

a)Forest Dream Resort

b)Medina Palms

  • Ecotourism Enterprise of the Year 2013 – Community Based (Supported by Kenya Wildlife Trust)

a)Porini Amboseli Camp

b)Camp Kenya

c)Kobo Safaris Ltd

d)Statunga Ecotours

  • Ecotourism Enterprise of the Year 2013 – Tours and Travel  

a)Gamewatchers Safaris Ltd

b)Kobo Safaris Ltd

c)Exclusive Eco Travels Ltd

d)Cheli & Peacock Safaris

  • Ecotourism Enterprise of the Year 2013 – Airline

a)Air Kenya


  • Eco-Rated Facility of the Year 2013

a)Basecamp Masai Mara

b)Ol Seki Hemingways Mara

c)Sasaab Lodge

d)Kicheche Valley Camp

e)Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

f)Lake Elementaita Serena Camp

g)Serena Mountain Lodge

h)Serena Beach Hotel & Spa

i)Porini Amboseli Camp

j)Turtle Bay Beach Club

k)Kichwa Tembo

l)Joys Camp

m)Sanctuary Olonana

n)Baobab Beach Resort

o)Kicheche Camp Ltd

  • Ecotourism Partnership of the Year 2013

a)Ol Seki Hemingways Mara

b)Sasaab Samburu

c)Porini Amboseli Camp

d)Kobo Safaris Ltd

e)Cheli & Peacock Community Trust

f)Basecamp Maasai Brand

  • Ecotourism Guide of the Year 2013

a)Christopher Letur- Saruni Samburu

b)Deric Nabaala- Basecamp EagleView

c)Nelson Ole Reyia- Sanctuary Olonana

d)Andrew Odhiambo- Kicheche camps

e)Onesmus- Rekero Camp

f)David Nganga- Mara Rianta

  • Ecotourism Journalist of the Year 2013

a)Kimathi Mutegi- People Daily

b)Aby Agina- Nation Media Group

c)Rupi Mangat

d)Carol Gatura

  • Ecotourism Student Innovation Award 2013

a)Anthony Muinde

b)Mwania Stephen

c)David Mwabili & Billy Oyaro

d)Musau Makau

  • Ecotourism Training Program of the Year 2013

a)Strathmore University

b)Kenyatta University

c)Amboseli Institute

d)Intl Hospitality & Tourism Institute

  • Ecotourism Student Host Organization of the Year 2012 (Supported by Ecotourism Kenya)

a)Mlilo Community Tours & Safaris

b)Statunga Ecotours

This year’s Eco-Warriors will be held during the Ecotourism and Sustainable Tourism Conference (ESTC13) Kenya Night Event. The Ecotourism and Sustainable Tourism Conference (ESTC), organized by the International Ecotourism Society (TIES), is a unique annual conference focused on the advancement of sustainability goals for the tourism industry.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s